HISTORIC PRESERVATION AWARDS 2024 Whitfield-Murray Historical Society

PURPOSE

The Whitfield-Murray Historical Society honors groups and individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the preservation of the history of Whitfield and Murray Counties.

GUIDELINES FOR NOMINATIONS

- 1. Nominated individuals may be living or deceased.
- 2. A nominee does not have to be a current resident of Whitfield or Murray County.
- 3. Nominated organizations must be active.
- 4. Nominations may be held up to five years.

NOMINATION & SELECTION PROCESS

- 1. Nomination forms are available in the historical society office and on the Society's website.
- 2. The awards committee, appointed biannually by the Society's president, selects recipients from the nominees. Multiple awards may be presented each year.
- 3. Any member of the Whitfield-Murray Historical Society may make a nomination.
- 4. All nominations must be in the headquarters office by April 1 to be considered for selection in that calendar year.

AWARDS

- 1. Each recipient's name will be placed on a permanent plaque at the headquarters.
- 2. Each recipient will receive an appropriate token commemorating the occasion of receiving the award.
- 3. Special recognitions can also be given to express appreciation for unique contributions to the Society and/or to local historic preservation efforts.

PREVIOUS AWARD WINNERS

Peg Adams-2018 Judy Bryant Alderman-1996 Ivan Allen, Jr.-1995 Ralph & Pat Ausmus-1999 Mike Babb-2001 **Dicksie Bradley Bandy-1994** Paul Belk-2016 Betty Blackwell-2015 Nancy Carter Bland-1996 Pauline "Polly" Moore Boggess-1997 Jim & Ken Boring-2012 C.W. Bradlev-1994 Anne Harris Brindle-2002 Melissa Burchfield-2009 Mark & Penny Carpenter-2011 Arnold Caylor-2016 Robert E. Chambers-1995 Vivian Chance-2022 Church of Christ of Latter Day Saints-2009 Cisco School Alumni-1997 City of Chatsworth-2007 City of Dalton Public Works Dept.-2019 Civil War 150th Committee-2016 Civil War Roundtable of Dalton-2002 Dalton First Presbyterian Church-2018 Dalton Little Theatre-2020 Dalton Mayor City Council-2010 Emily Phillips Cogburn-2003 Earl & Louise Coker-2000 Jim Cook-2017 Jay & Ruth Cox-2005 Bruce Davies-2-23 Emily Hamilton Davies-1997 J.K. Dickson-1998 Joan Dooley-2003 Mary Gene Sims Dykes-1995 The Emery Center-2011 Lonnie Eoff-2023 W.W. "Bill" & Peg Fincher-2004 Donna Flood--2021 Erik Gallman-2015 Tom & Jeannette Greeson-2001 Sherrian Hall-2016 Troy Hall-2003 David Hamilton-1994 Jane Graddy Harrell-1996 Angle & Rick Hix-2018 Joe & Mary Holland-2004

Tim Howard-1995 Keep Chatsworth-Murray Beautiful-2017 Lyle Kinney Family-1998 Jerry & Sherman Leonard-2012 Joanne Crockett Lewis-1999 David & Pam Loughridge-2020 Nell Ruth Davis Loughridge-1997 Carolyn Z. Luffman-2015 Lt. Col. William M. Luffman Camp, SCV-2014 Dale Lowman-2022 Jean Jolly Manly-1998 Carolyn Martin-2018 Betsy McArthur--2021 Mildred Hall McCamy-1996 Carlton and Henrietta McDaniel-1998 Herman McDaniel-2008 Gertrude McFarland-2005 Ruth McGill-2000 Mary Hamilton McKnight-1997 Jan & Mickey McNeill-2013 Evelyn Myers-2002 Mark Pace-2007 Mohawk Foundation, Inc.-2013 William Pannell-2020 Prater's Mill Volunteers-2010 Katherine Wright Raine-1994 Roland Rankin-2023 Derrell C. Roberts-2004 Elizabeth Robinson-2019 Paul Ross-2001 Dorothy Sapp Seaton-1996 Dottie Smith Boring Shaw-2017 Helen Shope-1995 Chuck & Jyana Smith-2018 Louise & Nellena Smith-2014 Marion "Pete" Sims-1994 Marvin Sowder-1998 Nancy & Lester Strain-2017 Spring Place Ruritan Club-2005 Sumach Cumberland Presbyterians-2016 Don & Emma Jean Thomas-2000 Ellen Keith Thompson-1999 Marcelle Coker White-2008 Whitfield County Commissioners-2010 Preservation Whitfield County Historic Commission--2021 Ted Yarbrough-2019

2024 Historic Preservation Award Nomination Form Whitfield-Murray Historical Society

The Whitfield-Murray Historical Society wishes to honor individuals, businesses, groups and organizations who have made outstanding contributions to the preservation of the history of Whitfield and Murray Counties. Additional copies of this form with a list of past award recipients may be obtained from the Whitfield-Murray Historical Society, P. O. Box 6180, 715 Chattanooga Avenue, Dalton, GA 30720 or from the website www.whitfield-murrayhistoricalsociety.org. Telephone 706-278-0217.

Please submit your completed nomination form to the above address.

NAME OF NOMINEE				
DATE OF NOMINATION	I			
CONTACT INFORMATI	ON			
MAILING ADDRESS				
CITY	STATE	ZIP	PHONE	
EMAIL ADDRESS				
IF NOMINEE IS DECE SELECTED?				
NAME				
MAILING ADDRESS				
CITY	STATE	ZIP	PHONE	
EMAIL ADDRESS				
NAME OF PERSON MA	KING NOMINATI	ON		
NAME				
MAILING ADDRESS				
	STATE	ZIP	PHONE	
EMAIL ADDRESS				

ON A SEPARATE SHEET, PLEASE EXPLAIN WHY YOU THINK YOUR NOMINEE SHOULD BE SELECTED FOR THE WHITFIELD-MURRAY HISTORICAL SOCIETY'S HISTORIC PRESERVATION AWARD. YOUR APPLICATION IS INCOMPLETE WITHOUT THIS VITAL INFORMATION.