# HISTORIC PRESERVATION AWARDS 2015 Whitfield-Murray Historical Society

#### PURPOSE

The Whitfield-Murray Historical Society honors groups and individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the preservation of the history of Whitfield and Murray Counties.

### **GUIDELINES FOR NOMINATIONS**

- 1. Nominated individuals may be living or deceased.
- 2. A nominee does not have to be a current resident of Whitfield or Murray County.
- 3. Nominated organizations must be active.
- 4. Nominations may be held up to five years.

# **NOMINATION & SELECTION PROCESS**

- 1. Nomination forms are available in the historical society office and on the Society's website.
- 2. The awards committee, appointed biannually by the Society's president, selects recipients from the nominees. Up to three awards may be presented each year.
- 3. Any member of the Whitfield-Murray Historical Society may make a nomination.
- 4. All nominations must be in the headquarters office by April 1 to be considered for selection in that calendar year.

# AWARDS

- 1. Each recipient's name will be placed on a permanent plaque at the headquarters.
- 2. Each recipient will receive an appropriate token commemorating the occasion of receiving the award.

#### **PREVIOUS AWARD WINNERS**

Judy Bryant Alderman-1996 Ivan Allen, Jr.-1995 Ralph and Pat Ausmus-1999 Mike Babb-2001 **Dicksie Bradley Bandy-1994** Nancy Carter Bland-1996 Pauline "Polly" Moore Boggess-1997 Jim and Ken Boring-2012 C.W. Bradley-1994 Anne Harris Brindle-2002 Melissa Burchfield-2009 Mark and Penny Carpenter-2011 Robert E. Chambers-1995 Church of Christ of Latter Day Saints-2009 Cisco School Alumni-1997 City of Chatsworth-2007 Civil War Roundtable of Dalton-2002 Emily Phillips Cogburn-2003 Earl and Louise Coker-2000 Jay and Ruth Cox-2005 Emily Hamilton Davies-1997 J.K. Dickson-1998 Joan Dooley-2003 Mary Gene Sims Dykes-1995 The Emery Center-2011 W.W. "Bill" and Peg Fincher-2004 Tom and Jeannette Greeson-2001 Troy Hall-2003 David Hamilton-1994 Jane Graddy Harrell-1996 Joe and Mary Holland-2004 Tim Howard-1995

Lyle Kinney Family-1998 Jerry and Sherman Leonard-2012 Joanne Crockett Lewis-1999 Nell Ruth Davis Loughridge-1997 Lt. Col. William M. Luffman Camp,SCV-2014 Jean Jolly Manly-1998 Mildred Hall McCamy-1996 Carlton and Henrietta McDaniel-1998 Herman McDaniel-2008 Gertrude McFarland-2005 Ruth McGill-2000 Mary Hamilton McKnight-1997 Jan and Mickey McNeill-2013 Evelyn Myers-2002 Mark pace-2007 Dalton Mayor City Council-2010 Mohawk Foundation, Inc.-2013 Prater's Mill Volunteers-2010 Katherine Wright Raine-1994 Derrell C. Roberts-2004 Paul Ross-2001 Dorothy Sapp Seaton-1996 Helen Shope-1995 Louise and Nellena Smith-2014 Marion "Pete" Sims-1994 Marvin Sowder-1998 Spring Place Ruritan Club-2005 Don and Emma Jean Thomas-2000 Ellen Keith Thompson-1999 Marcelle Coker White-2008 Whitfield County Commissioners-2010

#### 2015 Historic Preservation Award Nomination Form Whitfield-Murray Historical Society

The Whitfield-Murray Historical Society wishes to honor individuals, businesses, groups and organizations who have made outstanding contributions to the preservation of the history of Whitfield and Murray Counties. Additional copies of this form with a list of past award recipients may be obtained from the Whitfield-Murray Historical Society, P. O. Box 6180, Dalton, GA 30720. Telephone 706-278-0217.

#### Please submit your completed nomination form to the above address.

NAME OF NOMINEE			
DATE OF NOMINATION			
CONTACT INFORMATION	I		
MAILING ADDRESS			
CITY	STATE	ZIP	PHONE
EMAIL ADDRESS			
IF NOMINEE IS DECEAS SELECTED?	ED, WHO SHOULI	D BE NOTIF	IED IF THE NOMINEE IS
NAME			
MAILING ADDRESS			
CITY	STATE	ZIP	PHONE
EMAIL ADDRESS			
NAME OF PERSON MAKI	NG NOMINATION		
NAME			
MAILING ADDRESS			
CITY	STATE	ZIP	PHONE
EMAIL ADDRESS			

ON A SEPARATE SHEET, PLEASE EXPLAIN WHY YOU THINK YOUR NOMINEE SHOULD BE SELECTED FOR THE WHITFIELD-MURRAY HISTORICAL SOCIETY'S HISTORIC PRESERVATION AWARD. YOUR APPLICATION IS INCOMPLETE WITHOUT THIS VITAL INFORMATION.